Digital Literacy

Digital literacy isn’t just knowing how to watch a video on you tube or send a text message. Being digitally literate is being able to utilize a range of technology tools to gather and evaluate information; knowing how to connect and share information with other people; create and share original work; and so much more. When talking about digital literacy and digital fluency, it is important to understand the difference. Digital literacy is knowing how to use your resources to produce the outcome needed. Digital fluency is feeling comfortable on when to use what tools to  most efficiently produce the outcome needed. http://www.socialens.com/blog/2011/02/05/the-difference-between-digital-literacy-and-digital-fluency/ has a great analogy when it comes to the difference between the two, so have a look to better grasp the difference.

According to Doug Belshaw there are eight essential elements of digital literacy; cultural (context in which literacy is situated), cognitive (how we think while using a device), constructive (aim to use technology constructively rather than passively), communicative (use technology to enhance communication), confident (be confident to learn/use/explore technology), creative (don’t stick to the basics, try out new uses for technology), critical (look at your techniques with from a critical perspective), and civic (use available technology for the greater good).  Check out Doug Belshaw’s TED Talks video about these essential elements here —-> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8yQPoTcZ78

Looking at Belshaw’s list of essential elements, I have decided that I would really like to become better at the confident and creative aspects of digital literacy. I grew up using technology and use it every day, so it might be surprising that I said I would like to improve on the confident element. The reason I say that though is because technology is something I am comfortable with and I know enough I rarely have to explore and use new things, so I am not comfortable in learning and exploring new ways. I would really like to improve on that because if I improve that, I will automatically improve in the creative area because I will have new things to use and new ideas. I want to become really creative with the use of technology because the generation of children I will be teaching someday will be very advanced when it comes to technology. So, I will need to keep them entertained, interested, and on task. The best way to do that will be through creatively using technology; introducing them to new ways and getting them involved.

diglitPhoto CC: By Michael Coghlan

2 thoughts on “Digital Literacy”

  1. Good point about the comfort level required for literacy vs fluency. With fluency, I feel like we’re more flexible and adaptable and creative in our choices, and I think it’s probably because of the comfort level you describe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

