Bitstrips!

6239

After reading Take 5: Comic Book/ Strip Creation Tools, I decided that I really wanted to play with Bitstrips. Bitstrips caught my eye because it is something I have seen before but never played with,  and because I think it would be very useful in the classroom.

I have seen Bitstrips on Facebook. I have seen where people have created their own, but also where they are automatically generated. I never tried it and got into it, but I have always enjoyed the ones my friends post, so I figured this was a perfect time for me to explore with Bitstrips.

Making this was a lot easier than I thought. Originally I went to the website, but I saw that they had an app, so I decided to get that instead. I chose to do that because if kids were using this in the classroom, they would probably do it on their iPads, so it would be the mobile version, similar to my phone. When I got the app, I had to create an account. I just connected it with my facebook, but there was an option to do it with an email too. Simple enough. Then, I got to make an avatar. I chose my gender, hair color, and eye color. After that, I just uploaded a picture for my background, chose the pose and facial expression of my character, and then added a word bubble with what I wanted to say! Then, I was given the choice to share it to facebook or a different way, so I texted it to myself so I could save it and put it on here.

Seeing how easy this was to use makes me think that it would be a great tool to use in the classroom. I think students would have a lot of fun with the fact that they get to personalize their character. This makes it so it is more personal and they can play with it and be creative. I also like that you can add captions or have word bubbles. This would be great to teach about the first and third person writing. It would also be a good warm up to give students a background and tell them to write about what is going on. It would also be fun to use when teaching the sequence of stories.

Bitstrips definitely provides a ton of opportunities in the classroom, and it would be amazing to use because it is so simple you could focus your time on actually using it rather than fixing problems and helping with confusion.

🙂

Leave a Reply

