Independent Learning Project Reflection

What have I learned about myself through my independent learning project? Well a lot. I have learned that naturally I am a very precise person who likes directions and knows exactly what to do step by step. But I have also learned that it is sometimes better to step away from directions and add in your own twists and make things unique. It is okay to experiment and to mess up. It makes the successes more sweet when you have some failures in between. I have learned it is okay to be more lenient and laid back and to just go with your instinct and make things up as you go.

It was pretty easy for me to motivate myself to continue to do this challenge because eating is something I have to do anyways, so why not mix a necessity with homework and knock two things out with one stone? Knowing that I would be eating something more yummy than usual made it pretty easy to want to do my independent learning project. Sometimes though, it was tough to find time because I have 19 credits, 2 jobs, and a boyfriend who lives out of state that I visit often. That was really the only challenging part was the find when exactly I was going to do it.

The best part of this project for me was being able to share. As I got more confident, I would bring the cupcakes I made to the school where I teach, to my boyfriend’s family, my family, etc. It was a lot of fun to just have something to bring and share and see everyone’s reactions and hear if they liked them or if there were things they would have changed. It made it an even bigger success for me when all I would hear is how delicious things were. ๐Ÿ™‚

When I become a teacher, independent learning projects are definitely something I will try to do in my classroom. It makes learning a lot more fun because you can choose what you want to learn about. With children you could give them choices instead of complete free reign, and it would still make them feel in control and that alone will motivate them immensely. Independent learning projects will be something I use to teach tech learning (like in this class), strengthen writing, reading, and editing, and also maybe an area like science or history, depending on what their topic is.

I really loved doing an independent learning project. I learning a lot about cooking, while learning about myself and about what I want in my future classroom along the way. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

